Skip to main content

Tower Hamlets and City of London Music Hub Board

The Tower Hamlets and City of London Music Education Hub (TH & CoL) meets four times a year, usually from 5.30 to 7pm. It works with the Hub and its stakeholders to support the effective governance of the organisation.

The goal is to develop a high-quality, inclusive music and arts education program for children and young people. The Hub also supports the workforce and promotes a diverse range of relevant activities. These activities provide progression, career pathways, and are accessible to all.

The TH & CoL Hub is led by the Tower Hamlets Arts and Music Education Service (THAMES). THAMES is part of Tower Hamlets Council. It receives all its funding for music education from the Department for Education (DfE). The funding is managed by Arts Council England (ACE).

The goal is to lead activities that support the National Plan for Music Education (NPME). The council provides more funding for other arts activities including dance, drama, film and visual arts.

There have been recent developments in music and arts education. The Department for Education (DfE) and Arts Council England (ACE) have proposed the next phase of Music Hub development. The Board will play an important role in responding to the needs of the community. It will also help build strategic resilience in the best interests of all stakeholders. This is an exciting time to consider joining the group.

By promoting music and arts education, we can make a real impact on improving the wellbeing, achievements, and opportunities for thousands of children and young people in Tower Hamlets and the City of London. If you are willing to commit your time and expertise to help achieve this, we welcome your application.

We encourage applications from people from protected characteristic groups. We also encourage applications from people with backgrounds reflecting the demographic and socio-economic diversity of the borough’s population.

Advisory Group Membership

  • Yousuf Ali Khan (Chair)
  • Julia Munn (Vice-Chair)
  • Lisa Bannon
  • Richard Clegg
  • Mawulikplimi Yawo Dossavi
  • Jonathon Hoyle
  • Abdul Qader Ali
  • Sibel Keefe
  • Kerri Sellens
  • Jill Tuffee